Ramon Bautista and the Joke that got him Beheaded

MonRa got Inday Sara angry. And she’s one Davaoena you wouldn’t want to be angry.

RB made a crucial mental lapse when he got on the stage. He forgot who his audience were. Like RB, I try to be funny too. And there are times when all you get after a joke is a bland reception or worse a wtf did he just make a racist/sexist remark-look.

I was on a formal alumni event once and was sharing a table with former classmates and professors. I was telling a green joke I read a few days ago. It was really funny! I was telling the story and boom! The nasty punchline! No one laughed. Even my classmates thought it was bastos. I forgot where I was and who I was with. My professors were probably rethinking the grade they gave me before.

RB forgot that there were people in his audience that probably didn’t know him, his character and his act. This people were not there for him. It was not his show. And Inday Sara’s tirade was an accepatable reaponse.

RB made a mistake and owned up to it and apologized. Great move!
Inday Sara calls out the Davao City Council to declare RB a persona non grata. Hhmmm, tough call. I really hate it when people force you to forgive a person. She’s angry, let her be. Give her time to process her emotions and forgive at her own time.

We shouldn’t ask Sara Duterte to calm down. She can be angry at the whole world and it wouldn’t matter. But we should tell the Davao City Council to be wise and rational.

P.S. Siyempre, the situation is differrent if you were an audience at a MonRa-headlined show. Doon, bawal ang pikon. Tumawa ka lang at umarte ka ayon sa itsura mo.

Read the story at Rappler.

Leave a comment